Research network on electrochemical energy storage,
Research center on batteries and supercapacitors
Young Energy Storage Scientist Award 2020 - Submit your project!


The YESS Award (Young Energy Storage Scientist Award) is an annual competition which rewards an outstanding young researcher/scientist in the field of electrochemical energy storage (batteries, supercapacitors…). It has been created by the French initiative on electrochemical energy storage (RS2E) headed by Prof. Jean-Marie Tarascon and Prof. Patrice Simon. The first edition took place in 2015.

This year, the contest gets a makeover. Indeed, the RS2E wishes to encourage risk-taking and the most daring projects. In 2020, the laureate will be rewarded a scholarship equivalent to one full year salary and a lump sum for operating costs in order to carry out his/her research project supported for the competition, in France, among our teams.

To learn more, download the terms here.

The application form there.

You have an idea and you dream of carrying out your own research project in a dynamic community at the cutting edge of science? Do not hesitate!

The YESS Award has been made possible through a partnership of several years with the “Batteries Event congress organized and animated by Avicenne Energy. The congress brings together specialists of batteries technologies (Pb, Li-ion and beyond), of batteries applications (from the micro scale to grid storage) and of the value chain (from manufacturers to end-users).


Among numerous candidates to the YESS Award 2019, Marie-Francine LAGADEC, post-doctorate at Collège de France, was selected as first laureate for proposing the most personal and innovative project. It was about the development of lithium ion cells with internal electrical protection that would lead to safer cells and smarter cells. This project also planned delivering on a realistic time scale a proof of concept by using limited human and financial resources. The jury highlighted the original professional career of Mrs. Lagadec and her out-of-the-box ideas.

The jury was composed of:

  • Jean-Marie Tarascon, director of RS2E
  • Stéphane Levasseur, technology strategy director at UMICORE
  • Alejandro Franco, member of RS2E and professor, Picardie Jules Verne University
  • Patrice Simon, deputy director of RS2E
  • Sébastien Patoux, head of battery technology department, CEA
  • Robert Dominko, research director at the National Institute of Chemistry of Ljubljana, Slovenia



« I am absolutely delighted to receive the YESS award for 2015 from the RS2E network. This is the first award I have ever won and I – together with the rest of the research team – are truly honored that our ideas and the potential impact of our research into new energy storage technologies using frustrated Lewis pairs has been recognized through this award », reacted Gregory Wildgoose, winner of the 2015 edition.

« I am honored to have won the YESS Award 2016. This award captures the essence of my work governed by three of my passions- the electrochemistry, the material science, and the development of operando techniques. Together with my team, Battery Materials (BatMat), we are pleased to demonstrate that the neutron diffraction can be a technique of choice for a better understanding of already commercialized batteries as well as be of a great help in developing the batteries of the future. », reacted Claire Villevieille, winner of the 2016 edition.

Presentation of the prize to Marie Francine Lagadec, 2019 laureate

Download the 2019 presentation brochure here

Find more information on the 2018 winners by clicking here (Laurent Bernard) and here (Matthew MacDowell)

For more information: